Middle Level Principal of the Year

Each year, the Association of Washington Middle Level Principals nominates a Washington state principal who then becomes eligible for the award at the national level. Both the state and national awards recognize superior middle level principals who provide the highest learning experiences for students and demonstrate exceptional contributions to the profession.


Selection Process

State and regional level: Each year, the AWMLP Board of Directors recognizes outstanding principals in 15 geographic regions located throughout Washington state. The regional winners become Regional Distinguished Principals. View the current list of regional winners.

To compete for the state award, regional winners must complete an application and provide supporting documents that include:

  • Essay response to a one-narrative prompt

  • Supporting data that documents the essay response with an emphasis on results

  • Letter of recommendation from immediate supervisor or current superintendent, prepared on district letterhead

The award packet and instructions will be sent to regional winners automatically and the completed application is due in mid-January. The AWMLP board then selects the Middle Level Principal of the Year from this group.

National level: Each year, all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Education Activity select one secondary principal. From the state winners, three finalists are named, and from this group, the National Secondary Principal of the Year is chosen. The awardee receives a $5,000 grant; each finalist receives a $1,500 grant.

MetLife and the National Association of Secondary School Principals, sponsors of the award program, honor the State Principals of the Year and the national winner at an awards banquet held in Washington, D.C.

Nominate a Colleague

Nominees for Washington’s Middle Level Principal of the Year are actively solicited between July and the end of November. Watch for details about nominating a principal for the 2018 award.

For More Information

AWSP | 800.562.6100 | webmaster@awsp.org