AWSP President's Award

The AWSP President’s Award is given to a person outside the association who has advocated on behalf of principals and the principalship in Washington state. Recipients are chosen by the AWSP Board in consultation with the AWSP executive director. The award is presented at  the association's annual conference in June.

2017 AWSP President's Award | Jerry Bender and Sue Anderson

Congratulations to Jerry Bender and Sue Anderson, the recipients of AWSP’s 2017 President’s Award! Jerry Bender is AWSP's former Director of Governmental Relations, who retired in July of 2017. Sue Anderson is the Educator Effectiveness Office Director at OSPI. Both were chosen for the award because of their commitment and support of AWSP and principals across the state.

2013 AWSP Special Recognition Award | Leadership Framework Team

On occasion, we honor individuals and groups who have achieved extraordinary results during a school year with the AWSP Special Recognition Award. 

In 2013, AWSP honored a group of practicing principals, university researchers and industry experts who created Version 2.0 of the AWSP Leadership Framework. The AWSP Leadership Framework has been adopted by nearly all the state’s 295 school districts as the framework for the state’s new required principal evaluation system.  

Version 2.0, which was released last month, includes an online library of hundreds of supporting resources for principals’ professional growth, and a user’s guide with forms and examples to help principals with the more procedural side of the evaluation process. The user’s guide is slated for release later this summer. 

Special Recognition Award Recipients:

  • Gene Sharratt, Ph.D. | Executive Director, Washington Student Achievement Council
  • Glenn Malone, Ed.D. | Exec. Dir. of Assessment, Accountability/School Success, Puyallup SD
  • Sally Lancaster, Ed.D. | Principal, Everett High, Everett PS
  • Larry Lashway | Formerly a Program Specialist with OSPI Professional Education and Certification 
  • Chad Lochmiller, Ph.D. | Asst. Professor, College of Education, WSU-Tri-Cities
  • Kristen Schroeder | Principal, James Sales Elementary, Franklin Pierce SD
  • Nancy Strobel | Principal, Mountain View Elementary, Puyallup SD
  • Ailene Baxter, Ed.D. | Principal, Ferrucci Jr. High, Puyallup SD
  • Brian Lowney | Principal, Emerald Ridge High School, Puyallup SD