Inside AWSP

Assistant Principal of the Year Award

The Washington State Assistant Principal of the Year honor alternates yearly between a middle level principal (selected by the Association of Washington Middle Level Principals) and a high school principal (selected by the Washington Association of Secondary School Principals).

Nominations Are Open

Nominations for the 2018 Principal and Assistant Principal are now open! We'll be selected four great new winners sometime in November: two assistant principals (elementary/secondary), and two principals (elementary/secondary).

Nominations are due by October 15th!

2018 Assistant Principal of the Year: Tami Skillingstad

Congratulations to Tami Skillingstad, the 2018 Assistant Principal of the Year! Tami has been at Westwood Middle in Cheney PS for five years as assistant principal and athletic director. She has a passion for building leaders and involving them in relevant activities that support school improvement goals. Her colleagues describe her as creative and innovative in designing solutions for middle school issues, such as the development of public service announcements about the importance of attendance that go out over the School Messenger System.
Tami Skillingstad

The Selection Process

Regional Distinguished Assistant Principals

The selection process begins at the regional level. Outstanding assistant principals are nominated from throughout Washington state for the Regional Distinguished Assistant Principal honor.

State Assistant Principal of the Year

Regional winners compete at the state level through a rigorous application process. (Award packets are sent to winners automatically.) The winner is announced each fall.

National Assistant Principal of the Year

The winners from all 50 states, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense, go on to compete at the national level. The National Association of Secondary School Principals, in conjunction with Virco, Inc., chooses three finalists for the National Assistant Principal of the Year.

Past Winners

Recent Winners

Ricardo Iñiguez (2017)
Clint Williams (2016)
Gail Danner (2015)
Ann Buswell (2014)
Ray Picicci (2013) 
Chanda Oatis (2012)
Jerry Warren (2011)
Dale Stopperan (2010)