High School Principal of the Year

The High School Principal of the Year award honors principals who have demonstrated excellence in a variety of areas, from personal achievement to collaborative leadership.

Selection Process

State and regional level: Each year, a panel of principals representing the Washington Association of Secondary School Principals selects a state winner from a pool of regional nominees. The regional level winners, known as Distinguished League Principals, go on to compete at the state level.

The winner of the Washington State High School Principal of the Year award is recognized annually at the AWSP/WASA Summer Conference, along with individuals who received the Washington State Elementary and Middle Level Principals of the Year awards.

National level: The state winner becomes eligible for the National Principal of the Year award. Three high school finalists are selected from the pool of state winners and compete for the award in Washington, D.C. The MetLife/NASSP National Principal of the Year, sponsored by MetLife and the National Association of Secondary School Principals receives a $5,000 grant for use in improving learning at their school.

The national honorees are distinguished guests at the Principals’ Institute in Washington, D.C., in October and at the NASSP Conference in the spring. Each national winner also receives a crystal award and banner to display at his or her school.

Nominate a Colleague

Nominees are actively solicited between July and the end of November. Watch for details about nominating a principal for the 2018 award.

For more information

Scott Seaman | Director of High School Programs | 800.562.6100